How the Amazing Art in Pokemon can Help you, Too

Spinda, Pichu, Horsea, Dratini, Feb-March 2015

When Erik introduced me to Pokemon X and Y for the 3DS a couple years ago, I was hesitant. I was worried that I wouldn’t fall in love with Pokemon series as most people have.

Long story short, I fell for Pokemon…and I fell HARD!

Pokemon-Y_CA Pokemon-X_CA

As an artist, Pokemon are the perfect images for practice because there are literally hundreds on the Pokemon website and they vary in complexity. I draw them to practice new techniques, test out new mediums and to warm up. The art in the Pokemon series, whether it be tv show, movie, or video game, is absolutely beautiful and inspiring.

These were done with Prismacolor soft core coloured pencils and colourless blender pencil. It was my first time using these pencils (I was inspired to draw by various artists on Instagram), and I feel as though they did what they were supposed to do. I think that I was more disappointed with my level of skill compared to these artists that I was comparing myself to than the actual finished products 😛

Regardless, I always enjoy mindless drawing and colouring.

2015-03-23 20.49.40 2015-03-23 20.50.15 2015-03-23 20.51.40

Leave a Reply

