My First Art Tablet

Last month, I purchased my first art tablet: the Wacom Intuos Pro tablet in it’s smallest size. Now that May has begun and I’m fished full-time school until September, I’ve started making digital art for Erik’s video game (set to release sometime during the middle of next year).Β 

71mcca-sU7L._SL1500_

I had never owned a digital art tablet previously, or knew much about them, but after extensive research I decided that this Wacom tablet fit my needs and price range (311$ CND with tax).

The butterfly below is my first piece of art created with the tablet: a practice piece where I tried to use as many features as Sketchbook Pro has to offer, so that I could get a feel for the program I’d be using to create all the video game art. So far, I’m impressed with both the tablet and Sketchbook Pro!

Abstract Monarch

1265 X 694 px

 

butterfly (practice)1

8 thoughts on “My First Art Tablet

  1. I have a Wacom Intuos 3 that I got quite a few years ago – it has survived one of my cats chewing the cord – it had to be soldered together and so far so good! I use it for everything, rarely ever use a mouse. I use Corel Painter 12 for my art but I would love to upgrade to Painter 15.

    1. Haha wow! Yes once you get a hang of using it as a mouse it’s great to use, I feel as though it feels more natural than a mouse. I had a demo of Corel Painter 15 and I was amazed by how much you can do! As a noob to digital art and tablets it was too complicated and daunting for me πŸ˜›

  2. Oh I am still, after several years, learning how to use my software – there is just so much to it. It can get really technical too, but I tend to stick with the things I know and then try something out now and again with hilarious results πŸ™‚ My ultimate dream would be to have one of those Cintique screens…. drool!!!!

  3. Hi, thanks for coming often to visit my Blog, and for all the Likes πŸ˜‰ I really appreciate it! You are doing a very nice job here on your Blog! I love this Butterfly you made. I did many Art-works with a Tablet in the past years, I loved I used to create a sweet Teddy Bear characther they were so cute! It is great of what you can design with it! At the moment I work with Photoshop for almost all my Digital Art I love it πŸ™‚ keep up with your good work! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

