Up, up and Away! & Brief Introduction to DAZ 3D

Here it is! My second artwork made with my tablet. The inspiration for this image came party from my long time love for hot air balloons and largely from the track Royal Raceway in Mario Kart 8.

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 9.26.46 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

This piece is also special because it’s the first featuring a sketch made with DAZ 3D. DAZ 3D is a free 3D art program/software that Wikipedia helps me define as “a 3D software and content company specializing in morphable, fully rigged, human models”. To help you visualize, here is a close up image of the women in the air balloon in DAZ 3D:

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 8.39.52 AM
excuse her nakedness!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I use this program as a virtual version of an artists wooden mannequin. I fix the proportions of my model how I like, put her into whatever pose I like (she can basically make ANY pose…this process of fixing her into a pose takes some practice), and then I draw her! It’s as simple as that.

61IjC3A70LL._SL1500_This is the process I go through to draw human bodies because they are not my forté. This process, long term, will also get me used to the human form so that eventually I will be able to draw them from imagination. I have more pieces of art in the making using these techniques for drawing humans.

FAQs:

– DAZ 3D also has male and child forms

– the program is completely free BUT if you want to get clothing, different poses, backgrounds etc (like if you were making an actual game or something on a much larger scale than me) there is a shop where you can purchase all those items

– checkout their website, it’s very informative and can most likely answer any questions (it also features amazing 3D art!)

www.daz3D.com

Up, up and away!

1280 X 695 px

Air Balloon1

2 thoughts on “Up, up and Away! & Brief Introduction to DAZ 3D

Leave a Reply

