are you experienced?

A couple nights ago, Erik took me out to our local art gallery for an art exhibition opening. I live in a pretty big city, so the gallery has the privilege of often showcasing work from world renowned artists. With my university student card, I also get free admission. What more could I ask for?!

This massive contemporary art exhibition, titled are you experienced, “brings together artists from across the globe in a show that offers works that appeal to the senses, making a point that an engagement with art can sometimes occur more readily if one does not have preconceived notions of what it should be. In this exhibition, experience creates meaning”.

Every gallery room that we walked into really was an experience. Every sense was vigorously exercised in the most delightful way possible. Because I was so enthralled with the whole experience, I didn’t take as many pictures as usual, but we did manage to get this one with a massive floor to ceiling piece by Dorian FitzGerald entitled Hacker-Pschorr Beerhall, Oktoberfest, Munich (2005) (acrylic and caulking on canvas mounted to board, 144 × 216 inches). I didn’t know if I would ever get to see a piece of art that massive locally after my visit to Paris and trip to the Louvre, but here I am!

IMG_4993_Fotor

Here are also more images of pieces that I saw, but taken from google images. I want you guys to get a taste of what I experienced!

images-1

Unknown                                                 © Jessica Eaton

“The series Cubes for Albers and LeWitt explores the possibilities of manipulating time, space, perception and, in particular, the additive system of colour. The images from this series are constructed onto single sheets of 4 x 5 film. The subject in reality is monochromatic. The photographs use a set of cubes and ground options painted white, two tones of grey, and black.”

2004_UncertainMuseum1

This piece by Olafur Eliasson, entitled The Uncertain Museum, was a light and form display that lit up an entire room as light circled and was filtered through these round suspended shapes. Very beautiful.

hadley_maxwell_(1)The Queen Still Falls to You, by Canadian duo Hadley and Maxwell, also took up an entire space.

do-ho-suh

Do Ho Suh’s 348 West 22nd St., Apt. A, New York, NY 10011 (Bathroom) (2003, nylon, silk fabric, steel framework) is a full-size replica of the bathroom in his New York apartment.

If you’re lucky enough to live close to a museum, go check out what great art/items it has to offer!

6 thoughts on “are you experienced?

  1. By the way, did you know the profile you are using takes a heinous long amount of time to load? I can literally view and like 2 or 3 other articles, while your page is still loading! I wonder if its just me? Maybe there is something wrong with the install, I tried it in Safari, and Firefox, and its very slow in both, just wanted to let you know!

    1. Thank you so much for letting me know Ogden. It’s slow to load on my computer too, but I honestly first thought that it was just my internet, and then I thought that maybe I didn’t have enough storage on my site because I don’t have a premium account and that was making it slow? Either way, tonight I will find a new theme that hopefully resolves the problem 🙂

  2. Ah good, I wasn’t sure wether to say something or not, it loaded real fast just now I must say! It crossed my mind you might want to try re-installing it, sometimes a widget gets left behind or something – who knows? Allot of the links I get in my email from WP don’t work!

Leave a Reply

