De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da

Because I’m still on vacation until Friday, I’ve decided to post a piece that I created a couple weeks before I left on my two week trip. I have two upcoming posts delving further into my travels to the west of Canada on the way!

The Police are my favorite band. At least half of my inspiration to make art comes from listening to their albums, so I came up with the idea to take each of my favorite songs and make a digital piece representing how I feel about the song/how the song makes me feel and what I envision as I listen to it.

DedododoThis project has proven to be much larger than I imagined. I was initially going to post all the images as a series, but now I’ve realized that finishing the series at the pace that I’m going will take at least a year. My primary artistic concern is the video game art

What I then decided to do was to post each image as soon as I’ve finished it, and compile them into a series at the end. For each piece I will also include the track, so take a listen if you like!

Inspired by geometric designs of an ’80s sweater, —1980 being the year the album Zenyatta Mondatta, which includes this track, was released— funky neon details on a black background oozes the style of the decade and the quirkiness of the light, upbeat tune titled De Do Do Do De Da Da Da.

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 7.08.28 PM
“and when their eloquence escapes me, their logic ties me up and rapes me”

I created this piece using Sketchbook, my Wacom Intuos tablet as well as Daz 3D to create a profile model, as I am not yet one hundred percent confident in my ability to create faces/bodies completely out of my own mind.

I hope you’re having a great morning/afternoon/evening/night!

 

p.s. I would also like to take this time to quickly thank Christine for nominating me for the Versatile Blog Award a couple weeks ago! Go and check out her blog!

6 thoughts on “De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da

  1. Not gonna lie, I think the only Police song I know is Message in a Bottle. /shame
    But I listened to this one, so now I know two!
    Love your drawing, feeling the 80’s vibes big time 🙂

Leave a Reply

